top of page

Food Truck Summerfest 2016 Corpus Christi

You would think that when going to a food truck fest, their would be a large variety of foods to choose from especially unique and strange choices. Well, my family and I made time to go to the Food Truck Festival here in Corpus Christi, TX. Now, don't get me wrong, the smorgasbord that the five of us had was indeed delicious. We were just let down by the lack of edgy and unimaginable foods you see on shows that perhaps you would be kind of leery to even put into your mouth. Or, even those foods that just make your mouth water and leave you craving and looking for a substitute that can maybe, just maybe, fulfill that craving. But, when the majority of the food trucks' menus were of the typical South Texas cuisine such as Barbecue, Mexican, and burgers...the best choice to make is to go to the truck with the longest line, right.

Well, my husband, Rey, chose "the Colonel" which was a baked potato stuffed with corn and the usual corn toppings along with some chicken. It was delicious! Yes, I do taste everything he orders. The two teenagers, Imani and Miquel, chose...chicken and waffles, of course. I chose the typical beef brisket stuffed baked potato deemed "the Bomb." Now, Mike did eventually discover something different. Imagine a burger that was made with donuts as the bun and chunky peanut butter instead of mayo or mustard... That's right...now that was a creation. He had the donut burger. I have to admit, that yes I did sample a small bite; and yes, it was quite a tasty one, at that. To our surprise, it was amazingly good! I was impressed by the melting of the flavors of the donuts, peanut butter, bcon, cheese, and not to mention, the patty. After all of that, we had some coffee courtesy of the Green Light Coffee bus. Imani and I had the vanilla mint iced coffee. Wait...did I just say mint? sure did! I had never had mint in my coffee, except for peppermint in my java chip Frappuccino from Starbucks. Rey just had a latte. Both coffees were good. We then tried the strawberry nachos.


SOPHIE'S
COOKING TIPS

#1 

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#2

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#3

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

bottom of page