top of page

The Spoils of Culturalization


We all are a member of some type of culture, whether it be music, religious, or even food. Let's take the food culture, for example. I am a Hispanic woman that was raised by a mother that showed her love through her food. She would cook all the great and tasty Mexican dishes that all her children loved. All the dishes, of course were accompanied by something that is so irresistible to many mouths because of their soft and comforting texture. Everyone knows exactly what I am talking about - tortillas...flour, that is! How can you eat a plate full of wonderful deliciousness without the tortilla? Presenting all these spoils to your family is contaminating our health. But, "Mexican" Style restaurants are popping up at an alarming rate of 9.3% in 2012. Pizza and burgers are still selling at high rates, but many other restaurants are adding "Mexican" to their menu in order to make a profit. Chips and salsa outsell hamburger and hot dog buns. Does that surprise you?

As a resident of a South Texas city, it's inevitable to drive a block and not see some type of "Mexican" or "Tex-Mex" restaurant. I can virtually walk to one from my home.

I do not like the fact that there are do many of these restaurants because it depreciates the quality of the real, authentic foods of the Latino culture. It seems like every restaurant I have gone to has the same choices and pictures on their menus; and that even goes for the "Jalisco" style place in my small hometown. There are simply too many.


SOPHIE'S
COOKING TIPS

#1 

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#2

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

 

#3

I'm a paragraph. Click here to add your own text and edit me.

bottom of page